Westex

Select Language

NFPA 70E

Национальная ассоциация пожарной безопасности (NFPA) опубликовала последнюю версию стандарта NFPA 70E (Требования по обеспечению электробезопасности на рабочих местах сотрудников) в 2012 году. В соответствии с NFPA 70E, «сотрудники должны носить огнестойкую одежду везде, где присутствует вероятность воздействия вспышки электрической дуги». Согласно этому требованию, сотрудники, работающие с деталями или оборудованием под напряжением или рядом с ними, обязаны носить огнестойкую одежду, которая отвечает требованиям ASTM F1506 и соответствует потенциальной энергии опасности. Работодатели обязаны выполнять анализ опасности вспышки для определения потенциальной энергии опасности и защитных границ вспышки.

Анализ опасности вспышки может быть выполнен путем расчета потенциальной падающей энергии оборудования или с использованием классификации категорий опасности/риска. Защитная одежда должна соответствовать расчетной падающей энергии или соответствующей категории риска, с уровнем защиты от воздействия дуги не меньше значения, указанного в разделе «Характеристики защитной одежды» стандарта.

В большинстве крупных компаний США есть сотрудники, работающие с оборудованием под напряжением или возле него. Управление США по охране труда и промышленной гигиене (OSHA) рассматривает стандарт NFPA 70E в качестве «признанной отраслевой практики».

Упрощение соблюдения NFPA 70E

Многие компании решили упростить соблюдение NFPA 70E за счет внедрения программ повседневной спецодежды с использованием защитной одежды Westex, отвечающей требованиям NFPA 70E «Категории риска 0, 1 и 2» в качестве однослойной одежды. Это может облегчить проблемы работодателя при определении того, к какой категории риска HRC относится конкретная рутинная электрическая задача, выполняемая сотрудником – 0, 1 или 2. (Пожалуйста, обратитесь к NFPA 70E Annex H Simplified; Two Category, Flame Resistant (FR) Clothing Approach.)

В дополнение к повседневной спецодежде, одежда и нашлемники для защиты от электрической дуги из двуслойной комбинации ткани Westex UltraSoft®, UltraSoft AC® и Indura® доступны также при работе в условиях повышенной категории риска HRC 3 и 4 уровня.

×
  • Sign In
  • Unlock
  • Create Account

Sign In:

Forgot password?

You're one step away

This requires a user to register or create an account to unlock all content.

Smart Move!

An account gives you access to more of our best resources

Westex

Select Language

NFPA 70E

The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) published the latest edition of the NFPA 70E Standard in 2015. NFPA 70E states, “Employees shall wear FR clothing wherever there is a possible exposure to an electric arc flash.” This requires employees working on or near energized parts and equipment to wear FR clothing that meets the requirements of ASTM F1506 and is appropriate to the potential energy of the hazard. Employers are required to perform an arc flash hazard analysis, now called an arc flash risk assessment, to determine the potential energy of the hazard and the flash protection boundary.

An arc flash risk assessment can be performed by calculating the potential incident energy of a piece of equipment or using PPE Category Classifications. Protective clothing must meet either the calculated incident energy or the corresponding PPE Category that has an arc rating of at least the value listed in the Table 130.7(C)(16).

Most major companies in the US have some employees that work on or near energized parts and equipment. The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) considers the NFPA 70E standard a “recognized industry practice” and has levied fines to companies that haven’t protected their employees when arc flash accidents have occurred.

Simplify Compliance to NFPA 70E

Many companies simplify compliance to NFPA 70E through everyday uniform programs using garments made with Westex-brand FR fabric that meet the requirements of NFPA 70E PPE Categories 1 and 2 as a single-layer. This can alleviate employer concerns about leaving the difficult decision of determining whether a specific routine electrical task is PPE Category 1 or 2 in the hands of the employee. Please refer to NFPA 70E Annex H.2 Simplified Two Category Flame Resistant (FR) Clothing Approach.

To supplement everyday uniforms, arc flash suits and hoods in double-layer Westex UltraSoft®, UltraSoft AC® and Indura® combinations are available for higher energy PPE Category 3 & 4 level tasks.

Create an FR Program

Before you choose FR garments or a clothing supplier, review the critical steps for correctly implementing a protective clothing program.

Check out our Resource Center

Want to learn more about our fabric and ensuring worker safety? The videos, white papers, brochures and other materials in our Resource Center can help.

Get in touch with us

866-493-7839
773-523-7000

FRinfo@milliken.com