Westex

Select Language

NFPA 70E

La National Fire Protection Association (Association nationale pour la prévention des incendies, NFPA) a publié la dernière édition de la norme NFPA 70E en 2012. La NFPA 70E stipule que les employés doivent porter des vêtements ignifuges partout où il existe une exposition possible aux arcs électriques. Cela exige que les employés travaillant sur ou à proximité de pièces et d’équipements sous tension doivent porter des vêtements ignifuges répondant aux exigences de la norme ASTM F1506 et appropriés à l’énergie potentielle du danger. Les employeurs sont tenus d’effectuer une analyse des risques d’éclair afin de déterminer l’énergie potentielle du danger et la limite de protection contre l’éclair.

Une analyse des risques d’éclair peut être réalisée en calculant l’énergie incidente potentielle d’une pièce d’équipement ou en utilisant les classifications des catégories de dangers/risques. Les vêtements de protection doivent être conformes à l’énergie incidente calculée ou à la catégorie de risques correspondante ayant une caractéristique d’arc de la valeur minimum indiquée dans la section “Caractéristiques des vêtements de protection” de la norme.

La plupart des grandes entreprises nord-américaines ont des employés qui travaillent sur ou à proximité de pièces et d’équipements sous tension. L’Occupational Safety and Health Administration (Administration de la sécurité et de la santé au travail, OSHA) considère la norme NFPA 70E comme une “pratique reconnue de l’industrie”.

Simplifier la conformité à la norme NFPA 70E

NFPA 70E par la mise en place de programmes d’uniformes quotidiens faisant appel aux vêtements Westex qui répondent aux exigences des catégories de risques (HRC) 0, 1 et 2 de la norme NFPA 70E dans une seule et même couche. Ceci peut apaiser les préoccupations des employeurs à déterminer si une tâche électrique quotidienne routinière en particulier est HRC 0, 1 ou 2 entre les mains d’un employé. (Veuillez consulter l’Annexe H simplifiée de la norme NFPA 70E : approche des vêtements ignifuges en deux catégories.)

Pour compléter les uniformes quotidiens, des combinaisons de protection contre l’arc électrique à deux couches avec capuchons en Westex UltraSoft®, UltraSoft AC® and Indura® de Westex sont offertes pour les tâches hautement énergétiques de niveaux HRC 3 et 4.

×
  • Sign In
  • Unlock
  • Create Account

Sign In:

Forgot password?

You're one step away

This requires a user to register or create an account to unlock all content.

Smart Move!

An account gives you access to more of our best resources

Westex

Select Language

NFPA 70E

The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) published the latest edition of the NFPA 70E Standard in 2015. NFPA 70E states, “Employees shall wear FR clothing wherever there is a possible exposure to an electric arc flash.” This requires employees working on or near energized parts and equipment to wear FR clothing that meets the requirements of ASTM F1506 and is appropriate to the potential energy of the hazard. Employers are required to perform an arc flash hazard analysis, now called an arc flash risk assessment, to determine the potential energy of the hazard and the flash protection boundary.

An arc flash risk assessment can be performed by calculating the potential incident energy of a piece of equipment or using PPE Category Classifications. Protective clothing must meet either the calculated incident energy or the corresponding PPE Category that has an arc rating of at least the value listed in the Table 130.7(C)(16).

Most major companies in the US have some employees that work on or near energized parts and equipment. The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) considers the NFPA 70E standard a “recognized industry practice” and has levied fines to companies that haven’t protected their employees when arc flash accidents have occurred.

Simplify Compliance to NFPA 70E

Many companies simplify compliance to NFPA 70E through everyday uniform programs using garments made with Westex-brand FR fabric that meet the requirements of NFPA 70E PPE Categories 1 and 2 as a single-layer. This can alleviate employer concerns about leaving the difficult decision of determining whether a specific routine electrical task is PPE Category 1 or 2 in the hands of the employee. Please refer to NFPA 70E Annex H.2 Simplified Two Category Flame Resistant (FR) Clothing Approach.

To supplement everyday uniforms, arc flash suits and hoods in double-layer Westex UltraSoft®, UltraSoft AC® and Indura® combinations are available for higher energy PPE Category 3 & 4 level tasks.

Create an FR Program

Before you choose FR garments or a clothing supplier, review the critical steps for correctly implementing a protective clothing program.

Check out our Resource Center

Want to learn more about our fabric and ensuring worker safety? The videos, white papers, brochures and other materials in our Resource Center can help.

Get in touch with us

866-493-7839
773-523-7000

FRinfo@milliken.com