Westex

Select Language

Brennbarer Staub 101

Definition durch OSHA

Brennbare feste Staubpartikel, die eine Feuer- oder Verpuffungsgefahr darstellen, wenn sie in die Luft freigelassen werden, oder bestimmte andere oxidierende Medien in einer Reihe von Konzentrationen ohne Rücksicht auf deren Partikelgröße oder -form.

Geschichte

Seit 1980 gab es etwa 300 Explosionen, bei denen mehr als 800 amerikanische Arbeiter schwer oder gar tödlich verletzt wurden. Die Explosion auf einer Zuckerplantage des Unternehmens Imperial im Jahre 2008, bei der 14 Menschen ums Leben kamen und mehr als 40 verletzt wurden, veranlasste das Repräsentantenhaus, einen Gesetzesentwurf zu verabschieden, in dem ein bundesweiter Standard auf der Basis der bestehenden NFPA-Standards gefordert wurde.

Nachdem der Gesetzesentwurf im Senat aufgehalten wurde, erließ OSHA erneut ein nationales Schwerpunktprogramm (National Emphasis Program, NEP) zwecks Inspektion der Industrieeinrichtungen, in denen häufige oder katastrophale Unglücksfälle aufgrund von brennbarem Staub vorgefallen sind. OSHA hat seitdem mehr als 1.000 Firmen auf brennbaren Staub untersucht. Von den inspizierten Firmen haben 87% lobende Erwähnungen erhalten. PPE-Verstöße sind die dritthäufigste Kategorie.

Stichflammengefahr

Zu den Unglücksfällen aufgrund von brennbarem Staub gehören auch Stichflammengefahren. Eine Stichflamme ist eine sich schnell bewegende Flammenfront, in der Regel kürzer als 3 Sekunden, in einer beliebigen Arbeitsstätte und kann sich innerhalb der Einrichtung ausbreiten, während Schockwellen der Flammenfront Staubwellen vorausschicken.

Bekannte Verletzungen & tödliche Unfälle im Laufe der Zeit
×
  • Sign In
  • Unlock
  • Create Account

Sign In:

Forgot password?

You're one step away

This requires a user to register or create an account to unlock all content.

Smart Move!

An account gives you access to more of our best resources

Westex

Select Language

Combustible Dust 101

Definition by OSHA

Combustible particulate solid that presents a fire or deflagration hazard when suspended in air or some other oxidizing medium over a range of concentrations, regardless of particle size or shape.

History

Nearly 300 explosions have injured or killed over 800 American workers since 1980. The explosion at an Imperial Sugar Plant in 2008 which killed 14 people and injured over 40 caused the House of Representatives to pass a bill demanding a federal standard based on existing NFPA standards.

After the billed stalled in the Senate, OSHA reissued a National Emphasis Program (NEP) with the purpose to inspect facilities in industries where frequent or catastrophic combustible dust events have occured. OSHA has since inspected over 1,000 firms for combustible dust. Of the firms visited, 87% have received citations. PPE violations are the third most common category.

Flash Fire Hazard

Combustible Dust events include a Flash Fire Hazard. A Flash Fire is a rapidly moving flame front with a duration typically less than 3 seconds in any single location, can propagate through a facility as shock waves create dust waves ahead of the flame front.

Known Injuries & Deaths over Time

Create an FR Program

Before you choose FR garments or a clothing supplier, review the critical steps for correctly implementing a protective clothing program.

Check out our Resource Center

Want to learn more about our fabric and ensuring worker safety? The videos, white papers, brochures and other materials in our Resource Center can help.

Get in touch with us

866-493-7839
773-523-7000

FRinfo@milliken.com