Westex

Select Language

Étude de cas Con Edison

Consolidated Edison Company de New York (Con Edison) a récemment passé de nombreuses années et dépensé plusieurs millions de dollars à faire des essais pour examiner la performance de protection d’une grande variété d’équipements de sécurité, notamment les vêtements de protection. Les tests de Con Edison furent révolutionnaires dans la mesure où ils ont été effectués en dehors des conditions de laboratoire et qu’ils ont simulé des scénarios du monde réel, comme une voûte souterraine et des câbles aériens.

Et surtout, Con Edison a rendu l’installation d’essai et les informations générées disponibles à d’autres entreprises de services publics d’électricité, entreprises de l’énergie et entrepreneurs en électricité. L’objectif derrière ce libre accès : aider ces entités à se renseigner sur les dangers d’un arc électrique et la façon de mieux protéger leurs employés.

La série de tests sans précédent de Con Edison a été une grande avancée dans la compréhension de la nature violente d’un arc électrique. Les tests exécutés ont également révélé d’autres éléments non observés lors de tests de laboratoire, notamment les expositions confinées souterraines, les expositions aériennes et les expositions aux métaux en fusion provenant des équipements.

 

×
  • Sign In
  • Unlock
  • Create Account

Sign In:

Forgot password?

You're one step away

This requires a user to register or create an account to unlock all content.

Smart Move!

An account gives you access to more of our best resources

Westex

Select Language

Con Edison Case Study

Consolidated Edison Company of New York (Con Edison) recently spent multiple years and several million dollars doing testing to examine the protective performance of a wide variety of safety equipment, including protective clothing. This testing was revolutionary in that it was performed outside of laboratory conditions and simulated real-world underground vault and overhead scenarios.

Notably, Con Edison made the testing facility and information generated available to other electric utility companies, energy companies and electrical contractors. The goal behind this open access: to help these entities learn about the dangers of an electric arc flash and how to better protect their employees.

Con Ed’s unprecedented test series represented a major advancement in understanding the severe nature of an electric arc flash. The testing performed also uncovered additional elements not seen in lab testing, including underground confined exposures, overhead exposures and molten metal exposure from equipment.

×


Already have an account?

Sign In:

Standard account sign in:
Forgot password?
Sign in with LinkedIn:

Unlock

We are so glad you are interested in our . Do you want to unlock just this resource or would you like to unlock all of our best resources?
or

Create Account

An account gives you access to more of our best resources






Create an FR Program

Before you choose FR garments or a clothing supplier, review the critical steps for correctly implementing a protective clothing program.

Check out our Resource Center

Want to learn more about our fabric and ensuring worker safety? The videos, white papers, brochures and other materials in our Resource Center can help.